Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

ORF the Austrian national broadcaster has confirmed that they will not be returning to Eurovision Young Dancers in 2017.

Austria will not be returning to Eurovision Young Dancers, ORF the Austrian national broadcaster has confirmed to Austria was one of the original 14 countries to participate in Eurovision Young Dancers in 1987 and went on to compete in the contest a total of five times. Austria last took to the Eurovision Young Dancers stage in 2001 when the contest was held in London, their dancer Rainer Krenstetter failed to make the final of the contest.

To date three countries have confirmed that they will be participating in next years contest. They are:

  • Malta (Host Nation)
  • Poland
  • Slovenia

Malta will be hosting Eurovision Young Dancers 2017 on 9th June. The venue for the contest has not been confirmed but PBS has stated that they wish to hold the contest in the open air. This will be the first time that Malta has hosted the contest having only started participating in the contest in 2015.

The last edition of Eurovision Young Dancers was held in 2015, the venue for the contest was the New Theatre in Pilsen. A total of 10 countries competed with debuts from Albania and Malta. The contest was won by Viktoria Nowak from Poland.

Source: ORF

[tw-accordion class=””]
[tw-accordion-section title=”What is Eurovision Young Dancers?”]
First held in 1985 a total of 37 countries have competed at least once in the contest, including Canada in 1987. The competition is open to young dancers who are aged between 16 and 21 years old. Each country is represented by either a solo dancer or a couple, who perform a routine of their choosing for the jury. The jury will select two acts to go through to the final round which is a 90 second dance off. Each dancer is given 45 seconds to perform and impress the judges, at the end of the performances the judges select the winner.

Leave a Comment