Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

In two weeks time the eighteenth winner of Eurovision Young Musicians will have been decided in Cologne, Germany. Here’s everything that we know about the contest with two weeks to go.

The Host City:

It’s a return to the German city of Cologne who hosted Eurovision Young Musicians in 2014 as well. WDR will once again be acting as the host broadcaster for this years contest having been in charge of German participation since 2008. The venue for this years contest is the steps of the world-famous Cologne Cathedral, providing a stunning backdrop to three evenings of classical music.

Dmitry is the youngest participant at 11 years old
Dmitry is the youngest participant at 11 years old

How will this years contest work?

The semi finals will be making a return this year adding to the tension and the pressure on the 11 performers taking part in this years contest. The semi finals will be held on Sunday August 28 and Monday August 29, just eight young musicians will make it through to the final on September 3. The qualifiers will be selected by a panel of judges. The jury for the semi finals is made up of one classical music expert from each of the competing countries.

In the final the eight finalists will perform a six-minute piece of their choosing. This performance is judged by a five person jury made up of classical music stars. The jury will then comment on the performance before awarding their points. At the end of the show the top three will be announced and awarded their prizes.

On the jury in the final are:

  • Alice Sara Ott – The German-Japanese pianist Alice Sara Ott has been named as one of most promising young classical talents in the world. She has already received numerous awards, including the ECHO Klassik in 2010 as a young artist of the year.
  • Andreas Martin Hofmeir – In 2013 he received the ECHO Klassik Instrumentalist of the Year, becoming the first tuba player to receive the award. He is currently a professor teaching in Salzburg as well as a founding member of the group LaBrassBanda.
  • Julian Rachlin – In 1988 he represent Austria at the Eurovision Young Musicians contest, he won the contest performing Concerto for violin and orchestra in d, op.22 by H. Wieniawski.
  • Jonathan Ceho – One of the best young musicians in the United Kingdom, in 2010 he founded the group Arcangelo which perform both historic and modern instruments.
  • Tine Thing Helseth – She represented Norway at the Eurovision Young Musicians contest in 2006 finishing 2nd. She has gone on to perform with the Vienna Philharmonic and the Norwegian Chamber Orchestra. In 2013 she received the ECHO Klassik as Young Artist of the year.
Cologne will be hosting for a second contest in a row
Cologne will be hosting for a second contest in a row

Who is competing?

This year a total of 11 countries will be taking to the stage in Cologne. For the first time San Marino will be competing in the contest. However Greece, Moldova, the Netherlands and Portugal have all decided they will not be competing in the 2016 contest, having participated in 2014.

The competing countries and their participants are as follows:

For more information about this years contest and news from the selections process check out the “Eurovision Young Musicians 2016” section on the website.


Leave a Comment