Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

New Zealand: UKTV Will Not Broadcast Eurovision 2019

UKTV will not be broadcasting the Eurovision Song Contest 2019, having previously aired the contest between 2014 and 2016.

UKTV will for a second year running not be airing the Eurovision Song Contest 2019. The contest has been left out of television schedules for May. The broadcaster first aired the Eurovision Song Contest in 2014 showing both the semi-finals and the finals, before cutting back to just broadcasting the final in 2016.

In 2017, the broadcaster which is part of the BBC’s international chain of channels, decided to drop the competition. Before UKTV aired the competition, between 2009 and 2011, Stratos broadcast the Eurovision Song Contest on a 12 hour delay in 2009 before delaying the show until June and July in 2010 and 2011.

A total of 41 countries will take part in the 2019 edition of the Eurovision Song Contest. This year Bulgaria and Ukraine have withdrawn from the competition. The 41 competing nations are:

  • Albania
  • Armenia
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Georgia
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Malta
  • Moldova
  • Montenegro
  • The Netherlands
  • North Macedonia
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • San Marino
  • Serbia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • United Kingdom

The official slogan for this year’s contest is “Dare to Dream”. The slogan according to Executive Supervisor Jon Ola Sand is about:

Being on that stage, daring to dream you can win the Eurovision Song Contest, be brave enough, be confident enough, standing there performing for a world audience is something that is worth the dream. This is what Netta did last year, when she performed in Lisbon. 

Source: UKTV

Leave a Comment