Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

Today: Sweden Selects For Eurovision 2019 & Russia Reveals Their Song

Sweden and Russia are in action today, with Sweden selecting their singer and song, while Russia reveals their entry for Tel Aviv.

The schedule for today is as follows:

  • 17:00 CET – Russia – Song Reveal
  • 20:00 CET – Sweden – Melodifestivalen – Final
  • 20:00 CET – Montenegro – Revamp of “Heaven”
Russia – Song Reveal – 17:00 CET

The song that Sergey Lazarev will perfom for Russia at the Eurovision Song Contest 2019 will be revealed this evening.

The song which is speculated to be titled “Scream” will be revealed at 17:00 CET. Sergey who is returning to the contest for a second time commented on Instagram.


View this post on Instagram


‼️The time has come: Saturday 9 March at 17.00 CET we will release the Eurovision entry for Russia. I really hope you will all LOVE the song as much as I did from the first time I listened to it. This is a new journey for me and I am so excited for it. Thank you @fkirkorov not only for your contribution to the song, but most of all for being always there for me like a brother. True friendship exists in show business and you are the best example of this. Thank you @dimitriskontopoulos for this powerful melody, the great production and all of the hours of work you have spent for this song. @Sharon_Vaughn your words gave meaning to the melody. It’s an honor working with you and singing your lyrics. @moscow_symphony_orchestra your contribution gave a different meaning to the song. I am so glad that we managed to bring live orchestra back to eurovision, even in this way. @the_andrew_weed you are the best sound engineer I have ever worked with. @alxpanayi thank you for your patience, you are a true professional. Finally the biggest thanks goes to everyone in channel “Russia” for trusting me, for the second time, to represent our country. I promise you all to do my best in order to honor your decision. “Tears aren’t quiet things …” #sergeylazarev #сергейлазарев #eurovision2019 #Russia photo by @dvelichko ❤️??

A post shared by Sergey Lazarev (@lazarevsergey) on

It has previously been revealed that he will sing a song composed by Philip Kirkorov, as well as Dimitris Kontopoulus and produced by Ilias Kokotos. Fokas Evangelinos is also returning as the staging director for the contest. The song that Sergey is reported to be performing on stage in Tel Aviv that will be a “power-ballad, something grand and epic”, that has been recorded with a full symphony orchestra.

Sweden – Melodifestivalen – Final – 20:00 CET
Anna Bergendahl
Image Source: SVT

This evening sees the final national selection of the 2019 selection season, with Sweden selecting their entry for Tel Aviv.

Twelve artists will be taking to the stage at the Friends Arena all competing to represent Sweden in Israel. The show hosted is being by Sarah Dawn Finer, Marika Carlsson, Kodjo Akolor and Eric Saade. With Linda Woodruff set to make her first appearance since the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest in Stockholm.

The running order this evening is as follows:

1. Norrsken – Jon Henrik Fjällgren
2. Torn – Lisa Ajax
3. Hello – Mohombi
4. Victorious – Lina Hedlund
5. On My Own – Bishara
6. Ashes to Ashes – Anna Bergendahl
7. Chasing Rivers – Nano
8. Hold You – Hanna Ferm & LIAMOO
9. I Do Me – Malou Prytz
10. Too Late For Love – John Lundvik
11. Not With Me – Wiktoria
12. I Do – Arvingarna

Throughout the evening, numerous musical numbers, interval performances and comedy sketches will also grace the stage.

One of Saturday night’s intervals has been confirmed as a performance by Charlotte Perrelli of her winning Eurovision song from 1999. Charlotte Perrelli hinted a rerelease of the song earlier this year to celebrate the original release’s anniversary.

“Take Me to Your Heaven” won the contest in Jerusalem twenty years ago after Dana International secured Israel’s third Eurovision win the year before. Dana International will also appear on the stage this weekend.

The winner of Melodifestivalen 2019 will be decided by 50% public voting and 50% jury voting. There are eight international juries who are voting this evening. The juries are:

  • Austria
  • Australia
  • Cyprus
  • Finland
  • France
  • Israel
  • Portugal
  • United Kingdom
Montenegro – Revamp of “Heaven” – 20:00 CET

The final version of “Heaven” by D-Moll is set to be revealed by the Montenegrin national broadcaster this evening.

The reveal will take place on TVCG1 after the evening news at 20:00 CET. The revamped version of the song now features a reworked arrangement featuring the violinist Vili Ferdinandi.

The official music video for “Heaven” was filmed over the course of three days across Montenegro. Featured in the video are Podgorica, Stari Bar and Ulcinj, furthermore children from a school in Žabljaka are also involved.

Leave a Comment