Paulina Bidzińska has been selected to represent Poland at Eurovision Young Dancers 2017 later this year in the Czech Republic.

Paulina Bidzińska has won Młody Tancerz Roku 2017 this evening, beating Hanna Szychowicz in the final dance off to take victory. The talented young performer has now received the right to represent Poland at Eurovision Young Dancers and aim to bring Poland a second consecutive victory in the competition. Eight young dancers competed tonight to be crowned Young Dancer of the Year, they were all aged between 16 and 20 years old and are not professionally engaged.

The eight hopefuls were:

  • Szymon Hawryszko
  • Weronika Sieczkarek
  • Bartłomiej Malarz
  • Patryk Kaczmarek
  • Alicja Kaczor
  • Paulina Bidzińska – Winner
  • Hanna Szychowicz
  • Pola Gonciarz

The eight dancers performed a solo piece that they have choreographed, as well as dance in a group piece prepared by Jacka Przybyłowicza. Two dancers were then selected to go through to the dance off, in which the jury selects the winner. The competition uses the same format as Eurovision Young Dancers.

On the jury are:

  • IwonaPasińska – Director of the Polish Dance Theater – Poznań Ballet
  • Maksim Woitiul – Soloist at the Teatru Wielkiego – Opery Narodowe
  • Filip Czeszyk – Dancer, choreographer and hip-hop instructor

Ceska Televize will host the Eurovision Young Dancers 2017 in the latter half of this year, the host city and venue for the contest have not yet been revealed. The Czech Republic takes over as the host country for this years contest after Malta withdrew from hosting at the start of this year. Currently only Poland has confirmed that they will be participating in this years contest.

Source: TVP

First held in 1985 a total of 37 countries have competed at least once in the contest, including Canada in 1987. The competition is open to young dancers who are aged between 16 and 21 years old. Each country is represented by either a solo dancer or a couple, who perform a routine of their choosing for the jury. The jury will select two acts to go through to the final round which is a 90 second dance off. Each dancer is given 45 seconds to perform and impress the judges, at the end of the performances the judges select the winner.