Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

Online voting has begun in Finland following last nights preview of the official music videos for the 10 songs competing in the countries Eurovision selection.

Last night the official music videos for the 10 songs competing in UMK 2017 were revealed to the public. The show which saw a panel of singers discuss all of the competing songs, also saw the launch of the online vote for the final on January 26. Online voting is only open to citizens of Finland, voting opened at 20:00 local time on December 31 and will remain open until 12:00 local time on January 26.

Finland will be selecting their entrant for the Eurovision Song Contest 2017 in Kyiv, Ukraine using both juries and public voting. The public will decide 50% of the public vote, while international juries will be deciding the remaining 50%. This is the first time that Finland has used international juries in the 2000s. Finland in recent years has opted to use juries made up of a variety of professions and social groups alongside the public vote to decide their entrant.

On the panel were:

  • Eini
  • Jaana Pelkonen
  • Tuija Pehkonen
  • Suvi Aalto

The results of the panels voting was as follows:

  1. My First Band – Paradise – 42
  2. Emma – Circle of Light – 40
  3. Zühlke – Perfect Villain – 38
  4. Norma John – Blackbird – 34
  5. Alva – Arrows – 34
  6. Club La Persé – My Little World – 28
  7. Lauri Yrjölä – Helppo Elämä – 26
  8. Anni Saikku – Reach Out For The Sun – 26
  9. Günther & D’Sanz – Love Yourself – 24
  10. Knucklebone Oscar & The Shangri-La Rubies – Caveman – 14

Source: YLE

[tw-accordion class=””]
[tw-accordion-section title=”Finland in the Eurovision Song Contest”]
Finland first participated in the Eurovision Song Contest in 1961, they debuted alongside Spain and Yugoslavia. Finland has finished last in the contest on 10 occasions and has received nul points three times. It wasn’t until 2006 that Finland won the Eurovision Song Contest, Lordi represented the country in Athens with the song “Hard Rock Hallelujah” scoring 292 points a record total at the time. Finland last performed in the final in 2014 when Softengine finished 11th with the song “Something Better”.

Leave a Comment