Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

Three weeks earlier than planned, the songs of the Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2016 have been released via Spotify for those living in Scandinavia. DR’s ten finalists bidding for the right to represent Denmark at the Eurovision Song Contest in Stockholm this May read as follows:

Muri & Mario – “To Stjerner”
Sophia Nohr – “Blue Horizon”
Veronicas Illusion – “The Wrong Kind”
Lighthouse X – “Soldiers of Love”
Kristel Lisberg – “Who Needs A Heart”
David Jay – “Rays of Sunlight”
Simone – “Heart Shaped Hole
Jessica – “Break it Good”
Bracelet – “Breakaway”
Anja Nissen – “Never Alone”

Simone returns to the contest for a third time after previously entering in 2010 and 2013, two of Denmark’s most successful year’s in the contest. Anja Nissen is another to watch, as the winner of The Voice Australia in 2014. Anja turned down the song ‘My Girls’ performed by Bella Paige in the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2015, penned by judge Delta Goodrem. Goodrem is rumoured to be the second representative of Australia in 2016 following the success of Guy Sebastian last year.

Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2016 will be hosted at ‘Forum Horsens’, in Horsens, on February 13th, the show can be watched via the official website of DR and Eurovision.t.

Take a listen to thirty second extracts of the ten finalists, below:

Want to listen to all of this year’s entries in full? If you’re living in Scandinavia, you can hear all ten tracks via Spotify using the player below. Or, if you want to get pitch perfect before the big night – you can also listen to the karaoke tracks of this year’s Dansk Melodi Grand Prix.



3 thoughts on “Denmark’s Ten Eurovision Hopefuls Revealed”

    1. She is, Becca. Anja’s parents are both Danish, they moved to Australia at young ages, however has lived in Australia all her life. She’s signed to, and even performed with him on one single in 2014. Anja’s a very well established artist.

      Samuel Deakin,
      The ESC News Group

Leave a Comment