Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

Belarus: 113 Submissions Received for Eurovision 2019

BTRC has announced that a total of 113 submissions were received for the Belarusian selection for Eurovision 2019.

Submissions were received from 16 countries; Belarus, Russia, Ukraine, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Poland, Romania, Israel, Sweden, Spain, Portugal, Italy, United Kingdom, United States, Canada, Nigeria. Among the singers to reveal their submissions are Mihai and Daz Sampson, who both participated in the Eurovision Song Contest 2006 for Romania and the United Kingdom respectively.

The Belarusian broadcaster will now hold a live auditions round on February 4. The participants will be judged by a focus group formed of BTRC, Ministry of Culture, Arts and Cultural figures. The qualifiers from the auditions round will be announced on February 4, with ten singers competing in the national final.

The act that will represent Belarus in Israel this May will be decided by jury only. The national final which is set to take place before March 8 will see each of the judges will announce their results straight after each performance. They will be able to score the songs from 0 to 10 points. If there is a tie at the end, the winner will be decided by a second vote.

Source: BTRC

Belarus debuted in the Eurovision Song Contest in 2004 and has made it to the final on five occasions. Belarus’ best result in the contest came in 2007 when Dmitry Koldun finished 6th in the final with a total of 145 points. In total Belarus has qualified for the Eurovision final five times in fifteen attempts.


Leave a Comment