Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

The running order for Malta Eurovision Song Contest 2018 has been revealed.

Malta is steadily preparing for this Saturday to select their entry for the Eurovision Song Contest 2018 and have now revealed the running order in which the entries will be taking the stage.

Once the songs were revealed in early January it was stated that Aidan and his song “Dai Laga” would be opening the show, with Petra and her song “Evolution” closing it.

The 16 acts will be performing in the following order:

  1. Aidan – Dai Laga
  2. Miriana Conte – Rocket
  3. Jasmine Abela – Supernovas
  4. Matthew Anthony – Call 2morrow
  5. Danica Muscat – One Step At A Time
  6. Dwett – Breaking Point
  7. Lawrence Gray – Love Renegade
  8. Richard & Joe Micallef – Song For Dad
  9. Tiziana Calleja – First Time
  10. Eleanor Cassar – Back To Life
  11. Rhiannon – Beyond Blue Horizons
  12. Brooke Borg – Heart Of Gold
  13. Christabelle Borg – Taboo
  14. Deborah C – Turn It Up
  15. Avenue Sky – We Can Run
  16. Petra – Evolution

Rehearsals for the Maltese national selection already started on Monday, January 29th. Maltese broadcaster TVM has provided some behind the scenes images and videos of the rehearsals to give a glimpse of what to expect from their performance.

The final show will take place this in Ta’Qali this Saturday, February 3rd, where the winner will be decided as a mixed result of 50% televoting and 50% jury votes.

A total of 129 songs were submitted to the selection to represent Malta in the Eurovision Song Contest, which is a drop from 156 last year. In the end it was Claudia Faniello who flew the flag for the small island, and with her song “Breathlessly”, she came 16th in the semi-final with 55 points.

Source: TVM

Malta in the Eurovision Song Contest

Malta debuted in the Eurovision Song Contest in 1971 and was represented by Joe Grech and the song “Marija I-Maltija”, which finished last. Malta competed again in 1972 and 1975 but then withdrew until their return in 1991. During the 1990s Malta only once finished outside of the top 10, and in 1998 they came within just 7 points of victory. It was Chiara who brought the country their 3rd place finish in 1998, and who went on to finish in 2nd at the 2005 contest in Kyiv. The only other artist to finish 2nd for Malta is Ira Losco, who was 12 points away from victory in 2002. They are the most country never to have won the Eurovision Song Contest.

Leave a Comment