Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

Junior Eurovision’17: How The Result is Decided

With a matter of hours to go until the final of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2017, we explain how the result is decided this evening in Tbilisi, Georgia.

This year sees the return of the public vote, while changes have been made to how the jury vote works. So here’s what you need to know about how the result is decided.

50% Public Vote – 50% Jury Vote

After last years winner being decided by 100% jury voting, the public vote makes a return in the form of the online vote. Since 18:00 CET on Friday, people have been able to vote online for their favourite three to five singers. This closes 1 minute before the final begins today and then re-opens for 15 minutes after all the singers perform.

The remaining 50% of the vote is decided by national juries that vote on behalf of their respective country.

How Does the Online Vote Work

Voting is open to anyone from any country. Anyone who wants to cast their vote must go to and watch rehearsal clips of each of the 16 participating songs. Voters have the option of choosing either 3, 4 or 5 songs. For anyone from one of the participating countries, it is possible to vote for their own country.

Voting will be frozen at 15:59 CET on November 26, just before the live broadcast of the contest from the Olympic Palace in Tbilisi. Once all 16 songs have been performed, online voting will re-open for another 15 minutes. Each song will then be given points based on the percentage of the online vote received.

Who Are on the Juries?

Each jury will consist of five members, two children and three adult music industry professionals. The jury voting will take place during the final dress rehearsal on Saturday. Jury members cannot have sat on a jury at Junior Eurovision in the previous three years.

How are the results announced?

As seen at the Eurovision Song Contest, each countries jury vote will be announced first by their spokesperson. Once all of the spokespersons have revealed the points, the public vote will be revealed. The host will work their way from the song that received the least points up to the one that received the most points.

Sixteen countries will take part in the 15th edition of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest this year, including returning country Portugal, who haven’t participated since 2007. The contest will take place at the Olympic Palace in Tbilisi, Georgia on Sunday 26th November 2017 at 16:00 – 18:00 CET. This is the first time Georgia has hosted any Eurovision event. Helen Kalandadze and Lizi Pop, who represented Georgia in the 2014 contest with “Happy Day” will host the show. The Virus, who were the Georgian representative in the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2015 with “Gabede”, will perform during the interval.

The participating countries are:

  1. Cyprus
  2. Poland
  3. The Netherlands
  4. Armenia
  5. Belarus
  6. Portugal
  7. Ireland
  8. FYR Macedonia
  9. Georgia
  10. Albania
  11. Ukraine
  12. Malta
  13. Russia
  14. Serbia
  15. Australia
  16. Italy

Eurovoix will bring you the latest news from the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2017 throughout this week.

Leave a Comment