Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

Hungary: Freddie Announced As Eurovision 2017 Commentator

Freddie will join Rátonyi Krisztina in commentating the Eurovision Song Contest 2017 for Hungary in Kyiv, Ukraine.

Today it has been revealed that Freddie will be joining Rátonyi Krisztina in the commentary box at the Eurovision Song Contest 2017 in Kyiv, Ukraine, providing commentary for Hungarian broadcaster MTVA. Freddie represented Hungary at last year’s Eurovision in Stockholm, Sweden, with his song “Pioneer”. He placed 19th in the Grand Final with 108 points. Krisztina is a presenter who hosted A Dal, the Hungarian Eurovision selection show. The duo are taking over from Gábor Gundel-Takács, who commentated on the contest for Hungary in 1998, 2007, 2009 and 2011-2016.

Hungary will be represented by Joci Pápai with his song “Origo” at this year’s Eurovision Song Contest. He beat seven other artists in the final of A Dal back in February, with the voting determined by both jury and public voting. The jury chose four artists to go through to the superfinal. The winner was then decided by the public.

The final of A Dal reached a series high audience of 542,000 viewers this year. Viewing figures for A Dal have struggled all season long, this culminated in the semi-finals failing to make it into the top.20 most watched shows of the week. Viewing figures for this years final have fallen by 13.7% over 2016 when just over 746,000 viewers watched the final.

Source: MTVA

[tw-accordion class=””]
[tw-accordion-section title=”Hungary in the Eurovision Song Contest”]
Hungary debuted in the Eurovision Song Contest in 1994, they were represented by Friderika Bayer and the song “Kinek mondjam el vetkeimet”. She went on to finish in 4th place scoring a total of 122 points and four sets of 12 points. This result remains’ Hungary’s best in their history in the contest. Hungary participated from 1994 to 1994 before withdrawing until 2005, the country didn’t return again until 2008. Hungary then once again withdrew in 2010 before returning in 2011. Since their return in 2011 Hungary has qualified for the final every year.

Leave a Comment