Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

Finland: Will Not Participate in Eurovision Young Dancers 2017

YLE the national broadcaster of Finland has decided that they will not be participating in Eurovision Young Dances 2017 in Malta.

Finland will not be returning to Eurovision Young Dancers in 2017. YLE the national broadcaster confirmed to that they have no plans to participate in next years contest which is being held in Malta. Finland becomes the first country to publicly confirm that they have no plans to participate in Eurovision Young Dancers 2017.

Finland debuted in Eurovision Young Dancers at the first contest in Reggio Emilia, Italy in 1985, they were one of eleven countries participating in the first contest. They went on to participate in every edition of the contest up to 2005. Since the contest was revamped and returned to screens in 2011 Finland has not participated in any of the three contests held since.

To date the following countries have confirmed their participation:

  • Malta (Host nation)
  • Slovenia
  • Poland

Source: YLE

[tw-accordion class=””]
[tw-accordion-section title=”What is Eurovision Young Dancers?”]
First held in 1985 a total of 37 countries have competed at least once in the contest, including Canada in 1987. The competition is open to young dancers who are aged between 16 and 21 years old. Each country is represented by either a solo dancer or a couple, who perform a routine of their choosing for the jury. The jury will select two acts to go through to the final round which is a 90 second dance off. Each dancer is given 45 seconds to perform and impress the judges, at the end of the performances the judges select the winner.

Leave a Comment