Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

The European Broadcasting Union has made a call for bids for the host broadcaster of Eurovision Young Musicians 2018.

At the Eurovision Music & Dance Plenary Meeting in Prague, the EBU has formally made a call for bids to host Eurovision Young Musicians 2018. This years contest was held just over two months ago in Cologne, Germany where Poland’s Łukasz Dyczko won over the judges. The launch of the bidding process confirms the formats continuation into the future, with the 2018 contest marking the 20th time the contest will have been staged.

In 2016 the bidding process was between the German broadcaster WDR and the Hungarian national broadcaster MTVA. At the time that WDR was announced as the host broadcaster for the 2016 contest, MTVA was encouraged to once again bid to host the contest in 2018. Previous host broadcasters of Eurovision Young Musicians include ORF (Austria), NRK (Norway), RTP (Portugal) and SRG SRR (Switzerland).

Eurovision Young Musicians 2016 saw a total of 11 countries take part in the show in Cologne. For the first time San Marino took to the contests stage, while Greece, Moldova, the Netherlands and Portugal withdrew from the contest. Poland won the contest, with Czech Republic in second place and Austria rounding out the top three.

Source: EBU

[tw-accordion class=””]
[tw-accordion-section title=”What is Eurovision Young Musicians?”]
Eurovision Young Musicians has been held bi-annually since 1982. The contest was based on the format of The BBC Young Musician of the Year in the United Kingdom. Performers in the contest must be aged under 18 years and are selected by their participating broadcaster. Each performer performs a piece of classical music of their choice accompanied by the local orchestra. The winner is decided by a jury made up of classical music experts and talents.

2 thoughts on “Eurovision Young Musicians: Call For Bids For 2018 Host Broadcaster”

  1. I hope Porto gets the host for 2018. I also hope that Albania, Australia, Azerbaijan and Iceland will debut in 2018.

Leave a Comment