Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

Ukraine: Vidbir 2020 Artists Revealed

UA:PBC, the Ukrainian national broadcaster, has revealed the artists that will compete in Vidbir 2020.

The 16 competing artists are:

  • Assol
  • David Axelrod
  • Elina Ivashchenko
  • FO SHO
  • GIO
  • Go-A
  • Jerry Heil
  • Katya Chilly
  • MOONZOO feat. F.M.F. Sure
  • [О]
  • Oleksandr Poriadynskyi

Vidbir 2020 will consist of two semi-finals and a final. The semi-finals will take place on February 8 and 15, while the final will take place on February 22. The semi-final split and running order will be announced this Wednesday on January 22. All three shows will be hosted by Serhii Prytula.

The voting in all three shows will consist of 50% jury voting and 50% public voting. The jury will consist of Andrii Danylko (Verka Serduchka, 2007), Tina Karol (Ukraine 2006) and Vitalii Drozdov (director-general of Hit FM Radio).

On their last participation in 2018, Ukraine finished 17th in the final with “Under the Ladder” by Mélovin. MARUV was due to represent the country in Tel Aviv with “Siren Song”. However, MARUV and UA:PBC could not come to an agreement on her participation for a number of reasons, including MARUV’s upcoming performances in Russia. As such, Ukraine were forced to withdraw from the contest.


Ukraine in the Eurovision Song Contest

Ukraine first participated in the Eurovision Song Contest in 2003, when Oleksandr Ponomariov performed “Hasta la vista”. The following year Ruslana brought the country their first win with the song “Wild Dances”. It was a feat that would be replicated in 2016 by Jamala with her song “1944”; her emotionally charged song scored a record 534 points to take victory in Stockholm. In 2017 O.Torvald represented the country on home soil with the song “Time”. The group finished in 24th place, Ukraine’s worst result at the contest to date.



Leave a Comment