Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

Cyprus: No Return to Junior Eurovision 2019

CyBC, the Cypriot national broadcaster, has confirmed that they will not be participating in the Junior Eurovision Song Contest in Poland.

Evi Papamichae, the Head of Delegation for Cyprus, confirmed to Eurofestivales that the country would not returning to the contest this year. Papamichae stated that this was due to a “management decision”.

Cyprus debuted in the Junior Eurovision Song Contest in 2003 in Copenhagen. They participated every year between 2003 and 2009 with the exception of 2005. They returned to the contest in 2014, before taking a one-year break. Their highest placing in the contest is 8th in both the 2004 and 2006 contests. The 2008 contest was also hosted in Limassol. On their last participation in 2017, Nicole Nicolaou finished last with “I Wanna Be a Star.”.

The 2019 Junior Eurovision Song Contest will be held on Sunday 24th November in Gliwice, Poland. To date, eleven countries have expressed their interest in participating in the contest:

  • Albania
  • Australia
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Ireland
  • Kazakhstan
  • Netherlands
  • North Macedonia
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Russia
  • Wales

Although they have not yet confirmed, it is expected that these countries will confirm this year due to their attendance at the Reference Group meeting:

  • Armenia
  • Belarus
  • Italy
  • Malta

The following nations have confirmed that they will not be participating in Poland:

  • Croatia
  • Moldova
  • Montenegro
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Cyprus

Source: Eurovfestivales

1 thought on “Cyprus: No Return to Junior Eurovision 2019”

  1. As much as I appreciate the news about Junior ESC on this page, why only the bad news? Yes, it’s sad that Cyprus won’t return, neither Slovenia or Croatia and others. And it’s a pity that Slovakia won’t debut. But please don’t forget to report about the good news too – that Azerbaijan and Ukraine have meanwhile confirmed their participation for the Junior ESC 2019, see here:

Leave a Comment