Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

United Kingdom: BBC Reveals Eurovision Commentary Team for Tel Aviv

British broadcaster BBC has revealed their commentary team for the Eurovision Song Contest 2019 in Tel Aviv, Israel.

Scott Mills will once again be joined by Rylan in the commentary booth for the semi-finals on BBC Four, with Graham Norton returning to commentate on the final. Scott has been commentating the semi-finals since 2011, with Rylan joining him for the first time at the 2018 contest.

Graham Norton will return to the commentary booth in the final for the eleventh time, having first taken the role in 2009.

The semi-finals are set to be held on the 14th and 16th May this year, with the final taking place on 18th May. Ten countries will qualify from each semi-final, and they will join the Big Five (France, Germany, Italy, Spain and the United Kingdom) and host country Israel in the final on Saturday night.

The United Kingdom will be represented by Michael Rice with his song “Bigger Than Us”. He was selected to represent the country after he won Eurovision: You Decide this year.

Who is Michael Rice?

Michael Rice from Hartlepool, will represent the United Kingdom at the Eurovision Song Contest 2019. He first came to the public attention when he participated in the X Factor in 2014, but was eliminated after the Bootcamp stage.

He returned to television screens in 2018 when he participated in the BBC series ‘All Together Now’. The show sees performers attempt to convince 100 judges to sing along with them. He was crowned the winner of the first series.

Source: BBC

The United Kingdom debuted in the Eurovision Song Contest in 1957 and holds the record for the most consecutive appearances in the contest. To date the UK has won the contest a total of five times, with their first victory coming in 1967 and their latest in 1997. The UK holds the record for the most second place finishes in the contest, having been runner-up a total of 15 times. Since 2000 the UK has finished within the top 10 only twice, this being in 2002 with Jessica Garlick and in 2009 with Jade Ewen.

Leave a Comment