Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

Estonia: Backing Singers for Victor Crone Revealed

It has been revealed who will be the backing singers for Estonia at the upcoming Eurovision Song Contest 2019 in Tel Aviv, Israel.

There will be 5 backing singers for Victor Crone’s entry “Storm”, Kaido Põldma, Dagmar Oja, Kaire Vilgats and also Stig Rästa who co-wrote the song and represented the country in 2015 with the song “Goodbye To Yesterday” with Elina Born.

Although 5 backing vocalists feature in the entry, Victor will be alone on the stage and the backing vocalists will be off stage. The staging is said to be similar to that featured on Eesti Laul but has since evolved.

It has also been announced that Saara Kadak who featured in Victor’s performance at Eesti Laul will not be appearing in the performance in Tel Aviv. Head of Delegation for Estonia, Tomi Rahula has confirmed:

Saara Kadak will not travel with us to Eurovision. I haven’t asked her about it. This information has come from the songwriters. Maybe she’s getting married? I’ve heard this marriage talk, but I can’t confirm it, it’s like an urban legend

Tomi Rahula also confirms that accompanying graphics will remain in the performance:

The Eurovision team is still working on these things, how exactly it will look like, we don’t know yet

Victor Crone will compete with his entry “Storm” and will appear in position 14 in the second half of the first semi final on Tuesday the 14th of May.

Sahlene who represented Estonia in 2002 will return to Eurovision this year as backing vocalist for Michael Rice representing the United Kingdom.

Who is Victor Crone?

Victor Crone is from the north of Stockholm, and first came to the public attention in 2015. He attempted to represent Sweden at the Eurovision Song Contest in 2015 alongside Behrang Miri with “Det rår vi inte för” but was knocked out in the Andra Chansen round.

In 2019 he entered Eesti Laul after ERR allowed international singers perform in the contest again. Victor will be performing the song “Storm” which was written by Stig Rästa, Vallo Kikas and himself.


Source: ESCKAZ

Estonia debuted in the Eurovision Song Contest in 1994 alongside six other countries. At the contest in Dublin they were represented by Silvi Vrait, who finished 2nd last scoring just 2 points. In 2001 Estonia won the Eurovision Song Contest for the only time to date. They were represented by Tanel Padar, Dave Benton & 2XL, who performed the song “Everybody” and took a surprise victory in Copenhagen. After the success of the late-90s and early 00s, Estonia failed to qualify for the final from 2004-2008. In 2009 Estonia launched a new selection show, Eesti Laul, and has since qualified for the final six out of ten attempts.

Leave a Comment