Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

Russia: Sergey Lazarev Returns To Eurovision With “Scream”

“Scream” has been revealed as the Russian entry for the Eurovision Song Contest 2019 in Tel Aviv, Israel.

The Russian entry for the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest in Tel Aviv, Israel has been revealed today. Sergey Lazarev will be performing “Scream” for Russia this May, with the singer returning to the contest having represented Russia in 2016.

“Scream” has been composed by Dimitris Kontopoulus, with the lyrics by Sharon Vaughn. The song was recorded with the Moscow Symphony Orchestra and is a different sound to what Sergey brought to Eurovision in 2016. Fokas Evangelinos will be the staging director for Sergey’s performance at the contest.

Ahead of the reveal of “Scream”, Russia has sat as the favourite to win the Eurovision Song Contest 2019 with the bookmakers for a number of months. Russia is closely followed by the Netherlands who revealed their entry earlier this week.

Who is Sergey Lazarev?

Russian singer Sergey Lazarev has been singing and acting since he was ten years old, and had received his first award in music by fourteen. He represented Russia at the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest in Stockholm, Sweden, with his song “You Are The Only One”. He placed third in the grand final, and will return to the contest this year in Tel Aviv.

Russia debuted in Eurovision in 1994 and has gone on to be one of the most successful countries in the contest. Since the mid-00s Russia has had a string of strong results including their first and only victory in 2008. Dima Bilan won the contest in Belgrade, Serbia with the song “Believe” taking the contest to Moscow in the following year. In 2015 and 2016, Russia finished in 2nd and 3rd place respectively in the final.

Leave a Comment