Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

Denmark: Just Under 1.3 Million Viewers for Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2019

Dansk Melodi Grand Prix continues to lose viewers year on year, with the lowest number of viewers since the 2008 selection show.

1.297 million viewers tuned in last Saturday to watch the Grand Final of Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2019. The show which was the most watched television program broadcast in Denmark last week, was only 10,000 viewers ahead of TV2’s latest episode of Badehotellet.

The number of viewers who tuned in to the program last week was down 86,000 viewers over the 2018 show. This represents fifth straight year that the number of viewers watching the Danish selection show for Eurovision has fallen year on year.

Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2019 took place in Herning. This was the fifth time that Dansk Melodi Grand Prix was held in Herning, which has proved a successful venue for producing strong results for Denmark at the Eurovision Song Contest. In 2001, Rollo & King went on to finish 2nd at Eurovision, while 2013 winner Emmelie de Forest won Dansk Melodi Grand Prix when Herning hosted Dansk Melodi Grand Prix.

The hosts for the show were Johannes Nymark, who represented Denmark as part of Lighthouse X in 2016 and Kristian Gintberg.

The voting took place over two rounds. In the first round, 50% jury voting and 50% public voting chose three acts to move on to the super final. Viewers in Greenland were also able to vote due Julie & Nina being from Greenland. The results of the first round were (qualifiers in bold):

  1. Simone Emilie – Anywhere
  2. Jasmin Gabay – Kiss Like This
  3. Rasmus Faartoft – Hold My Breath
  4. Marie Isabell – Dancing with You in My Heart
  5. Sigmund – Say My Name – Qualified
  6. Humørekspressen – Dronning af baren
  7. Julie & Nina – League of Light – Qualified
  8. Teit Samsø – Step It Up
  9. Leonora – Love Is Forever – Qualified
  10. Leeloo – That Vibe

In the second round, 50% jury voting and 50% public voting decided the winner. The results of the second round were:

  1. Sigmund – Say My Name – 23% – 3rd
  2. Julie & Nina – League of Light – 35% – 2nd
  3. Leonora – Love Is Forever -42% – 1st

Leonora will perform in the first half of the second semi-final on May 16.

Source: Gallup

Denmark debuted in the Eurovision Song Contest in 1957 alongside Austria and the United Kingdom. To date Denmark has won the contest on three occasions, the first being in 1963 when Grethe & Jorgen Ingmann performed “Dansevise”. Denmark won the contest again in 2000 represented by the Olsen Brothers, their most recent victory came in 2013 when Emmelie de Forest performed “Only Teardrops”. Denmark failed to qualify for the final of the Eurovision Song Contest in 2015 and 2016.

Leave a Comment