Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

Croatia: HRT Reveals How Winner of Dora 2019 Will Be Selected

HRT has revealed that the winner of Dora 2019 is set to be determined by 50% public voting and 50% regional voting.

The Croatian national broadcaster has today revealed how the winner of Dora 2019 will be determined. The winner of the Croatian selection process is to be selected by 50% public televote and 50% regional juries. In the event of a tie the public televote will be used to determine the winner.

The regional juries are located in Vukovar and Zagreb as well as eight HRT offices across Croatia; Čakovec and Varaždin, Rijeka, Pula, Osijek, Zadar, Knin and Šibenik, Split, and Dubrovnik. Each jury is formed of three people; one HRT employee (music editor of the Hrvatska Radio or a music journalist), musicians and music professionals.

The juries will rank all of the songs 16 competing songs, the top ten will then be awarded 1-8, 10 and 12 points to the competing songs. The ten juries between them have a total of 580 points to allocate. Of note is that the jury will be voting on the dress rehearsal and not the live show.

The public vote will also have a total of 580 points to distribute to the competing songs. The televote will be broken down in to the percentage each song received, meaning 10% of the vote is the equivalent of 58 points.

The show which takes place on February 16 will be opened by the duet Bojan Jambrošić & Danijela Pintarić and closed by the group Manntra.

The running order is:

  1. Bojan Jambrošić & Danijela Pintarić – Vrijeme predaje
  2. Jelena Bosančić – Tell Me
  3. Kim Verson – Nisam to što žele
  4. Jure Brkljača – Ne postojim kad nisi tu
  5. Beta Sudar – Don’t Give Up
  6. Lea Mijatović – Tebi pripadam
  7. Gelato Sisters – Back To That Swing
  8. Luka Nižetić – Brutalero
  9. Elis Lovrić – All I Really Want
  10. Domenica – Indigo
  11. Roko – The Dream
  12. Ema Gagro – Redemption
  13. Lidija Bačić Lille – Tek je počelo
  14. Lorena Bućan – Tower of Babylon
  15. Bernarda Bruno – I Believe In True Love
  16. Manntra – In The Shadows

Dora 2019 will take place on February 16 in Opatija. This year’s contest will be the first to allow non-Croatian language songs to take part. The show is set to be hosted by Mirko Fodor, Iva Šulentić and Jelena Glišić. Opatija is the home of Dora, having previously hosted the contest during its early years in the 1990s.

Source: Eurosong

Croatia debuted in the Eurovision Song Contest in 1993, they were one of three countries to debut in the contest that year. Croatia’s best result came in 1999 when Doris Dragovic finished 4th in Jerusalem. She performed the song “Marija Magdalena” which scored a total of 118 points, this included 12 points from Slovenia and Spain. Croatia returned to the contest in 2016 having withdrawn after the 2013 contest due to a string of poor results and financial difficulties.

1 thought on “Croatia: HRT Reveals How Winner of Dora 2019 Will Be Selected”

Leave a Comment