Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

The ten artists competing in Denmark’s Eurovision selection show have been revealed.

Today during an official press conference, the songs and artists competing in the 2019 edition of Dansk Melodi Grand Prix have been revealed. 10 singers will compete for the chance to represent Denmark at this year’s Eurovision Song Contest in Tel Aviv, Israel.

The ten artists and their songs are:

  1. Simone Emilie – Anywhere
  2. Jasmin Gabay – Kiss Like This
  3. Rasmus Faartoft – Hold My Breath
  4. Marie Isabell – Dancing with You in My Heart
  5. Sigmund – Say My Name
  6. Humørekspressen – Dronning af baren (Queen of the bar)
  7. Julie & Nina – League of Light
  8. Teit Samsø – Step It Up
  9. Leeloo – That Vibe
  10. Leonora – Love Is Forever

Listen to the songs here.

Julie & Nina’s song contains lyrics in Greenlandic. This is the first entry in Dansk Melodi Grand Prix since 1979 to include lyrics in the language.

Herning is set to host the final of Dansk Melodi Grand Prix for a fifth time, as Denmark selects for the Eurovision Song Contest 2019 on February 23. Herning has proved a successful venue for producing strong results for Denmark at the Eurovision Song Contest. In 2001, Rollo & King went on to finish 2nd at Eurovision, while 2013 winner Emmelie de Forest won Dansk Melodi Grand Prix when Herning hosted the national final.

Source: DR

Denmark debuted in the Eurovision Song Contest in 1957 alongside Austria and the United Kingdom. To date Denmark has won the contest on three occasions, the first being in 1963 when Grethe & Jorgen Ingmann performed “Dansevise”. Denmark won the contest again in 2000 represented by the Olsen Brothers, their most recent victory came in 2013 when Emmelie de Forest performed “Only Teardrops”. Denmark failed to qualify for the final of the Eurovision Song Contest in 2015 and 2016.

1 thought on “Denmark: DMGP 2019 Songs and Artists Revealed”

  1. Marie Isabell? Not to be confused with Maria Isabel from Junior Eurovision 2004. Also, hopefully we’ll see actual original music videos for the competing entries at this year’s Danish selection. 🙂

Leave a Comment