Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

RUV has revealed the split of the two semi-finals for Söngvakeppnin 2019.

Yesterday evening the ten artists participating in this year’s Icelandic Eurovision selection were revealed. Among the ten acts who are competing to represent Tel Aviv are two acts who have previously been to Eurovision; Friðrik Ómar (2008) and Hera Björk (2010). Five artists will compete in each semi-final.

Semi-Final 1 (February 9th):

  1. Hatari – Hatrið mun sigra
  2. Hera Björk – Eitt andartak
  3. Kristina Skoubo Bærendsen – Ég á mig sjálf
  4. Þórdís Imsland – Nú og hér
  5. Daníel Óliver – Samt ekki

Semi-Final 2 (February 16th):

  1. Elli Grill, Skaði, Glymur – Jeijó, keyrum alla leið
  2. Friðrik Ómar – Hvað ef ég get ekki elskað?
  3. Ívar Daníels – Þú bætir mig
  4. Tara Mobee – Betri án þín
  5. Heiðrún Anna Björnsdóttir – Helgi

The semi-finals of Söngvakeppnin 2019 will take place on 9th and 16th of February, with the final taking place on March 2nd. A number of changes have been made to the show for 2019 in the hopes of taking the nation to their first final since 2014.

Source: RUV

Iceland debuted in the Eurovision Song Contest in 1986 and, aside from 2 years of relegation in 1998 and 2002, has participated every year since. The contest is incredibly popular in Iceland, regularly being one of the most watched programmes of the year. Iceland has yet to win the contest but has finished in 2nd on two occasions. In 1999, Selma missed out on victory in Jerusalem by 17 points, and in 2009 Yohanna became the most successful Icelandic entrant ever finishing 2nd in the final with the song “Is it True?”. She scored 218 points, yet still finished 169 points behind the runaway winner Norway.

Leave a Comment