Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

Croatia: Dora 2019 Participants To Be Revealed Tomorrow

HRT has revealed that the sixteen acts competing in Dora 2019 will be revealed tomorrow online at 12:00 CET.

The Croatian national broadcaster has revealed more details about Dora 2019 and when we can expect to find out the participants. HRT will be revealing the participants and the titles of the songs that they will be performing at 12:00 CET via their website. In addition HRT will be revealing the two songs that may be added to the selection, if one of the other sixteen artists withdraws. The participants were selected by a jury formed of:

  • Vanna – Represented Croatia at Eurovision 2001
  • Zlatko Turkalj – Host on HR2 and commentator for the station at Eurovision
  • Igor Geržina – HRT’s Jazz Orchestra Producer
  • Ante Pecotić – Composer
  • Zlatko Gall – Music Critic
  • Antonija Šola – Composer and singer
  • Željen Klašterka – Head of Delegation

Dora 2019 will take place on February 16 in Opatija, the show is set to be hosted by Mirko Fodor, Iva Šulentić and Jelena Glišić. Opatija is the home of Dora, having previously hosted the contest during its early years in the 1990s.

Dora will be preceeded by two days of programming from Opatija. On Thursday night there will be a concert by the Symphony Orchestra, while on the Friday evening the Jazz Orchestra of HRT will perform.

Dora was previously used to select every Croatian entry from the country’s debut in 1993 until 2011. HRT cancelled the selection after 2011, citing Croatia’s poor results in the last ten years and decreasing public interest.

Source: HRT

Croatia debuted in the Eurovision Song Contest in 1993, they were one of three countries to debut in the contest that year. Croatia’s best result came in 1999 when Doris Dragovic finished 4th in Jerusalem. She performed the song “Marija Magdalena” which scored a total of 118 points, this included 12 points from Slovenia and Spain. Croatia returned to the contest in 2016 having withdrawn after the 2013 contest due to a string of poor results and financial difficulties.

Leave a Comment