Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

Greece: ERT’s Eurovision 2019 Committee Revealed

ERT’s committee for Eurovision 2019, which will help select the nations singer and song has been revealed today.

ERT has today revealed the names of the individuals that will sit on the committee that will determine the Greek singer and song for Eurovision. ERT last week confirmed that it will internally select its entry for Tel Aviv, and has now released the full members of the committee, they are;

  1. Dimitri Papadimitriou – Composer and Chairman of the Committe
  2. Adam Petros – Music producer
  3. Fotis Apergi – Journalist
  4. Gianni Petridi – Music producer
  5. Maria Koufpoulou – Director of International Relations ERT
  6. Sofia Dranidou – Head of European & International Affairs – International
    Relations ERT

Once ERT has selected the artist that will represent Greece in Tel Aviv, the broadcaster will work with the act to find an appropriate song. The song selected will work with the style of the singer selected.

Gianna Terzi represented Greece at this year’s Eurovision Song Contest in Lisbon, Portugal. With her song “Oniro Mou”, she failed to qualify to the Grand Final, placing 14th with a total of 81 points.

Source: Eurovision Fun

Greece debuted in the Eurovision Song Contest in 1974, when they were represented by Marinella and the song “Krasi, thalassa kai t’agori mou” which finished in 11th place with 7 points. Three years later Greece earned their first top 5 finish with Paschalis, Marianna, Robert and Bessy who finished in 5th place with “Mathima solfege”. In 2001 Greece achieved their first top 3 result with Antique and the song “I Would Die For You”. The song became a European hit, and charted across the continent. In 2005 Helena Paparizou returned to the Eurovision stage as a solo artist and brought Greece their first, and to date only, victory. Her song “My Number One” won with 230 points, beating runners-up Malta by 38 points.

Leave a Comment