Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

Portugal: Two Composers Already Confirmed for Festival da Canção 2020

Two composers are already confirmed for the 2020 edition of Festival da Canção.

Earlier this week, Portuguese broadcaster RTP revealed the names of the composers behind the sixteen Festival da Canção 2019 entries. However, in an interview with the festival’s artistic consultant Nuno Galopim, he stated that “there are two composers already confirmed” for the 2020 edition. Nuno assured that great care was taken when selecting the composers this year. This also confirms the country’s interest in taking part at the Eurovision Song Contest 2020.

The semi-finals of Festival da Canção 2019 are set to take place on February 16th and 23rd, with the final on March 2nd. The sixteen composers were selected in three different ways. Fourteen composers were directly selected by RTP to take part in the competition. One was selected through the “Master Class” radio program of Antena 1, while the last spot was determined by a public submissions process.

The composers behind the sixteen entries in this years contest are;

  • André Tentúgal
  • Calema
  • Conan Osíris
  • D’Alva
  • DAMA
  • Filipe Keil (Concurso público)
  • Flak
  • Frankie Chavez
  • Lura
  • Mariana Bragada (Masterclass)
  • Miguel Guedes
  • NBC
  • Rui Maia
  • São Pedro
  • Durma
  • Tiago Machado

Portugal hosted the Eurovision Song Contest 2018 in Lisbon. The country was represented by Cláudia and Isaura with the song “O Jardim”. They finished last in the Grand Final with a total of 39 points. They scored 21 points in the televote, with the remaining 18 points coming from the juries.


Portugal debuted in the Eurovision Song Contest in 1964 represented by António Calvário, the country finished last scoring nul points. Prior to 2016, the best result of Portugal in the contest was 6th place. This 6th place came in 1996 when Lúcia Moniz performed “O meu coração não tem cor” on stage in Oslo, Norway. She scored 92 points receiving 12 points from both Norway and Cyprus. Since their debut in 1964 Portugal has missed a total of five contests, the latest being in 2016. After their spectacular win in Kyiv, Portugal hosted the 2018 edition of the contest in the capital, Lisbon.

Leave a Comment