Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

Malta: Six Singers Progress in the Boys Category of the X Factor Malta

The six singers in the Boys Category have been selected by Ira Losco, as the six chair challenge continued in the X Factor Malta.

The second of four rounds of the Six Chair Challenge took place in Malta last night. Two time Eurovision participant Ira Losco had the task of whittling down the Boys Category and select just six to go through to the next round of the Maltese selection process for the Eurovision Song Contest 2019. The six singers who made it through to the next stage were:

  • Norbert Bondin
  • Mark Anthony Bartolo
  • Luke Chappell
  • Aidan
  • Claudio Zammit
  • Owen Leuellen

The X Factor Malta continues on Sunday, with the Overs category being the next to face the Six Chair Challenge. The X Factor Malta replaces the existing Malta selection format, Malta Eurovision Song Contest. The Malta Eurovision Song Contest also previously known as the Malta Song Festival had been used to select Malta’s Eurovision entry since their debut in 1971. The selection had undergone a number of revamps in recent years including the introduction of televoting and cutting out the semi-final stages.

Christabelle represented Malta in Lisbon in 2018 with the song “Taboo”. She finished 13th in the second semi-final, having finished 5th with the juries on 93 points, but last with the public with 8 points.

Source: PBS

Malta debuted in the Eurovision Song Contest in 1971 and was represented by Joe Grech and the song “Marija L-Maltija”, which finished last. Malta competed again in 1972 and 1975 but then withdrew until their return in 1991. During the 1990s Malta only once finished outside of the top 10, and in 1998 they came within just 7 points of victory. It was Chiara who brought the country their 3rd place finish in 1998, and who went on to finish in 2nd at the 2005 contest in Kyiv. The only other artist to finish 2nd for Malta is Ira Losco, who was 12 points away from victory in 2002. They are the longest participating country never to have won the Eurovision Song Contest.

Leave a Comment