Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

PBS has confirmed that they will be participating in Eurovision Young Dancers 2019.

Joseph Chetcuti of PBS has confirmed in an interview with Maltese Magazine Gwida, that preparations are underway for Eurovision Young Dancers 2019. Malta are the first country to confirm that they will be participating in the 2019 edition of Eurovision Young Dancers and this will mark the third time that Malta will have appeared on the contests stage.

Malta debuted in Eurovision Young Dancers in 2015 and were due to host the contest in 2017. Malta withdrew from hosting the 2017 contest in January of the same year, leaving the contest in limbo. The Czech Republic which had hosted in 2015 went on to host the contest again in December 2017. 

The European Broadcasting Union has not confirmed the host country or city of next years contest. The EBU is also yet to formally open the window within which broadcasters submit their interest in participating in Eurovision Young Dancers 2019.

Source: Gwida

What is Eurovision Young Dancers?

First held in 1985 a total of 37 countries have competed at least once in the contest, including Canada in 1987. The competition is open to young dancers who are aged between 16 and 21 years old. Each country is represented by either a solo dancer or a couple, who perform a routine of their choosing for the jury. The jury will select two acts to go through to the final round which is a 90 second dance off. Each dancer is given 45 seconds to perform and impress the judges, at the end of the performances the judges select the winner.

Leave a Comment