Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

Estonia: 216 Songs Submitted for Eesti Laul 2019

ERR has revealed that a total of 216 songs have been submitted to compete in Eesti Laul 2019.

Tomi Rahula, revealed this evening on ETV that a total of 216 songs have been submitted for Eesti Laul 2019. While the number of songs submitted is down on last year, this fall was expected as ERR introduced a fee for submitting songs to the competition.

Of the 214 songs it has been revealed that half of the songs are in Estonian, while the remainder are in other languages including Russian, English, German and Spanish. The 24 songs and artists that will be competing in Eesti Laul 2019 will be revealed on November 15 on Ringvaate.

It was also announced today that Tartu will be the host city for the semi-finals of Eesti Laul 2019. The city is the first outside of Tallinn to host a show of the Estonian selection process. Tickets for all of the shows for Eesti Laul will go on sale tomorrow.

The dates for Eesti Laul 2019 are as follows:

  • Semi-Final One – January 31
  • Semi-Final Two – February 2
  • Final – February 16

Estonia was represented by Elina Nechayeva at the 2018 contest in Lisbon, Portugal. With her song “La Forza”, she placed 8th in the final with 245 points.

Source: ERR

Estonia debuted in the Eurovision Song Contest in 1994 alongside six other countries. At the contest in Dublin they were represented by Silvi Vrait, who finished 2nd last scoring just 2 points. In 2001 Estonia won the Eurovision Song Contest for the only time to date. They were represented by Tanel Padar, Dave Benton & 2XL, who performed the song “Everybody” and took a surprise victory in Copenhagen. After the success of the late-90s and early 00s, Estonia failed to qualify for the final from 2004-2008. In 2009 Estonia launched a new selection show, Eesti Laul, and has since qualified for the final six out of ten attempts.


Leave a Comment