Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

Estonia: 24 Songs Submitted To Eesti Laul So Far

Twenty-four songs have been submitted to Eesti Laul 2018 so far.

With just one week before the deadline, Estonian broadcaster ERR has revealed that twenty-four songs have been submitted so far. The song titles, authors and performers that will participate in the semi-finals will be revealed on November 15th, with the songs being released no later than December 4th.

The semi-finals will take place on January 31st and February 2nd, with the final being held at Saku Suurhall on February 16th. The venues for the semi-finals are yet to be revealed, but this edition will see the shows being held outside of Tallinn for the first time.

Alongside making Eesti Laul a more national event, the contest has undergone a number of additional changes. A total of 24 artists competing to represent Estonia at the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest. Six artists will qualify from each of the semi finals and compete in the live final in Tallinn. The competition has also been opened up to foreign songwriters for the first time. Previously the selection had only been open to Estonian songwriters.

Estonia was represented by Elina Nechayeva at the 2018 contest in Lisbon, Portugal. With her song “La Forza”, she placed 8th in the final with 245 points.

Source: ERR

Estonia debuted in the Eurovision Song Contest in 1994 alongside six other countries. At the contest in Dublin they were represented by Silvi Vrait, who finished 2nd last scoring just 2 points. In 2001 Estonia won the Eurovision Song Contest for the only time to date. They were represented by Tanel Padar, Dave Benton & 2XL, who performed the song “Everybody” and took a surprise victory in Copenhagen. After the success of the late-90s and early 00s, Estonia failed to qualify for the final from 2004-2008. In 2009 Estonia launched a new selection show, Eesti Laul, and has since qualified for the final six out of ten attempts.

Leave a Comment