Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

Junior Eurovision’18: Helena Meraai Will Be The Green Room Host

BTRC has revealed that Helena Meraai will be the host of the Green Room at the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2018.

Following the reveal of the the hosts of Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2018, BTRC has revealed more details about the role of Helena Meraai. Helena who represented Belarus at the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2017, will be the host of the Green Room in Minsk.

Helena has previous experience as a Green Room host. Earlier this year at the Belarusian national final for Junior Eurovision, she was one of two Green Room hosts alongside Ruslan Aslanov. Helena will also be bringing her experience of being in the Green Room from last years contest in Tbilisi, Georgia.

Who is Helena Meraai?

In 2016 the young singer took part in the Voice Kids in Russia, going on to be selected by the winner of Eurovision 2008, Dima Bilan to join his team. She made it through to the Battle Rounds before being knocked out. She went on to take part in New Wave Junior later in 2016 representing Russia as part of “Trio EV’YA”, they went on to finish joint victors in the contest.

She has been coached by Olga Drozdova, who is a Peoples Artist of Russia and has worked with a number of singers who have gone on to compete in the Eurovision Song Contest. At the 2017 contest in Tbilisi, Helena performed the song “I Am The One”. The song was written and composed by Rita Dakota and Vlad Sokolovsky. Rita who is Belarusian and Vlad who is Russian are married and both competed in the seventh series of Star Factory.

The 2018 edition of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest will be held in Minsk, Belarus after the country won the bidding process before the 2017 contest even began. Olga Salamankha explained that Belarus was selected as the host for next years contest over other bids due to their long-term commitment to the competition.

Twenty countries will take part in this years contest. These are:

  • Albania
  • Armenia
  • Australia
  • Azerbaijan – Returning nation
  • Belarus
  • France – Returning nation
  • FYR Macedonia
  • Georgia
  • Ireland
  • Israel – Returning nation
  • Italy
  • Kazakhstan – Debut
  • Malta
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Russia
  • Serbia
  • The Netherlands
  • Ukraine
  • Wales – Debut

Source: BTRC

1 thought on “Junior Eurovision’18: Helena Meraai Will Be The Green Room Host”

Leave a Comment