Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

Slovenia: Nikola Pajanovic Places 2nd at Eurovision Young Musicians

Following last night’s final of Eurovision Young Musicians, it has since been announced that Nikola Pajanovic from Slovenia was the runner up.

Although it wasn’t announced on the broadcast, the European Broadcasting Union has revealed that it was Slovenia that had received the second place prize at this year’s Eurovision Young Musicians final. Nikola Pajanovic, a violinist from Ljubljana, received a 3,000 euro prize for his placing. Ivan Bessonov from Russia took the 1st place prize.

Six of Europe’s most talented young musicians took part in the final of the 19th edition of the contest, these were:

  1. Birgitta Elisa Oftestad (Norway) – Elgar – Cello Concerto, 4th movement
  2. Nikola Pajanović (Slovenia) – Tchaikovsky – Violin Concerto, 3rd movement
  3. Indi Stivín (Czech Republic) – Stivín – Bohemian Suite for Double Bass, 2nd & 3rd movements
  4. Mira Foron (Germany) – Sibelius – Violin Concerto, 3rd movement
  5. Máté Bencze (Hungary) – Ibert – Concerto da Camera for Saxophone
  6. Ivan Bessonov (Russia) – Tchaikovsky – Piano Concerto No 1, 3rd movement – 1st

Each of the six finalists will performed alongside the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra. Each musician performed for 12 minutes and hoped to impress the three jury members who decided tonight’s winner. The jury members are;

  • Sir James MacMillan
  • David Watkin
  • Marin Alsop
  • Anna Meredith
  • Andrew Moore

Source: EBU

Eurovision Young Musicians has been held bi-annually since 1982. The contest was based on the format of The BBC Young Musician of the Year in the United Kingdom. Performers in the contest must be aged under 18 years and are selected by their participating broadcaster. Each performer performs a piece of classical music of their choice accompanied by the local orchestra. The winner is decided by a jury made up of classical music experts and talents.

Leave a Comment