Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

Latvia: Will Not Participate in Junior Eurovision 2018

Latvian broadcaster LTV have today confirmed to that Latvia will not be participating in the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2018 in Minsk, Belarus.

The national broadcaster LTV have not sent a representative to the Junior Eurovision Song Contest since 2011 in Yerevan, Armenia.

Latvia have performed at the Junior Eurovision Song Contest five times, debuting in the original contest in 2003 in Copenhagen. They participated the following two years and then twice more from 2010 to 2011 where they withdrew for the last time.

The best entry from Latvia in the contest came from their debut entry “Tu esi vasarā” by Dzintars Čīča which finished 9th. They also finished in last place both in 2004 and 2011.


The following countries have stated that they will be participating in Minsk:

  • Armenia
  • Belarus
  • France
  • FYR Macedonia
  • Georgia
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Russia
  • Serbia
  • Wales

The following countries who participated in the 2017 contest in Tbilisi, Georgia are yet to publicly state whether they will be taking part in the 2018 contest;

  • Albania
  • Australia

To date Cyprus and Ukraine have confirmed their withdrawal from the competition. While BulgariaDenmarkLithuaniaMoldovaNorwayRomania, San Marino, SloveniaSweden and Switzerland have ruled out returning to the competition.

The 2018 edition of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest will be held in Minsk, Belarus after the country won the bidding process before the 2017 contest even began. Olga Salamankha explained that Belarus was selected as the host for next years contest over other bids due to their long-term commitment to the competition.

Source: LTV

1 thought on “Latvia: Will Not Participate in Junior Eurovision 2018”

Leave a Comment