Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

Malta: Junior Eurovision 2018 Participation Confirmed

Malta has launched their selection process for the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2018 today, as the nation makes changes to the way that their entry is selected.

Malta will participate in the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2018 in Minsk, Belarus, as PBS launches the nations selection process. For the first time since the 2010 contest, Malta will be holding a national final featuring original songs. Since their return in 2013 Malta has internally selected the song that will represent them on stage at the Junior Eurovision Song Contest, having brought back a national final to select their singer in 2015.

All songs must be between two and a half minutes and three minutes. Singers taking part in the contest can only be from Malta and must be involved in the writing and composition of the song that they have submitted for the contest. The submissions process will open later this week, with the submissions window closing on July 20.

16 finalists will be selected from the submissions and announced on 3 August. The winner will be selected via televised selection show which is to be held during September.

The 2018 edition of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest will be held in Minsk, Belarus after the country won the bidding process before the 2017 contest even began. Olga Salamankha explained that Belarus was selected as the host for next years contest over other bids due to their long-term commitment to the competition.

The following countries have stated that they will be participating in Minsk:

  • Armenia
  • Belarus
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Netherlands
  • Malta
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Russia
  • Serbia
  • Wales

Source: TVM

1 thought on “Malta: Junior Eurovision 2018 Participation Confirmed”

Leave a Comment