Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

Finland: YLE Will Not Debut At Junior Eurovision 2018

Finland will not be debuting in this year’s Junior Eurovision Song Contest in Minsk, Belarus.

YLE have revealed that Finland will not be debuting in this year’s Junior Eurovision Song Contest. This follows the news that Germany will also not debut, with Sweden, Bulgaria and the United Kingdom also turning down the opportunity to return.

Finland first took part in the adult Eurovision Song Contest in 1961, and has taken part a total of 51 times. They have won the contest once to date, in 2006 with Lordi and their song “Hard Rock Hallelujah”. In 2007 they hosted the contest in the capital city Helsinki. Their most recent entry in the Eurovision Song Contest was Saara Aalto, who placed 25th in the Grand Final with her song “Monsters”.

The 2018 edition of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest will be held in Minsk, Belarus after the country won the bidding process before the 2017 contest even began. Olga Salamankha explained that Belarus was selected as the host for next years contest over other bids due to their long-term commitment to the competition.

The following countries have stated that they will be participating in Minsk:

  • Armenia
  • Belarus
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Russia
  • Serbia
  • Wales

France return to the contest after having only appearing once at the contest in 2004. Wales make their debut this year through Welsh speaking broadcaster S4C.

Source: ESC Plus

Finland first participated in the Eurovision Song Contest in 1961, they debuted alongside Spain and Yugoslavia. Finland has finished last in the contest on 10 occasions and has received ‘nul points’ three times. It wasn’t until 2006 that Finland won the Eurovision Song Contest, Lordi represented the country in Athens with the song “Hard Rock Hallelujah” scoring 292 points a record total at the time.

Leave a Comment