Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

Junior Eurovision’18: Deadline For Broadcasters To Apply To Take Part Revealed

The European Broadcasting Union has revealed to Eurovoix when the deadline for broadcasters to apply to take part in the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2018 is.

The EBU has stated to Eurovoix that eligible broadcasters have until June 29 to submit their application to participate in the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2018. The confirmation means that broadcasters have five weeks left to decide whether they will be traveling to Minsk, Belarus this November for the Junior Eurovision Song Contest.

This years contest sees Wales make their debut appearance in the competition, having last considered taking part in the competition a decade ago. While France has confirmed that they will be returning to the competition 14 years after making their only appearance in the competition.

The 2018 edition of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest will be held in Minsk, Belarus after the country won the bidding process before the 2017 contest even began. Olga Salamankha explained that Belarus was selected as the host for next years contest over other bids due to their long-term commitment to the competition.

The following countries have stated that they will be participating in Minsk:

  • Armenia – National selection returns for first time since 2014
  • Belarus – Host nation
  • France – Returns after 14 years
  • Georgia – Tamar Edilashvili selected to represent the country
  • Netherlands – Junior Songfestival will be used to select participant
  • Poland – Selection to be held in October
  • Portugal – Broadcaster stated intention to participate having returned in 2017
  • Russia – National final to be held on June 3
  • Wales – First nation to debut in the competition since 2015

The past week has seen SVT of Sweden and the Bulgarian national broadcaster both state that they will not be participating in this years contest.

Source: EBU

1 thought on “Junior Eurovision’18: Deadline For Broadcasters To Apply To Take Part Revealed”

  1. There’s still time left for Bulgaria to change their minds about returning. 🙁 And hopefully the EBU will raise the maximum number of competing nations to 20.

Leave a Comment