Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

The Serbian Head of Delegation has confirmed that Beovizija will be used again next year to select the countries entrant in the Eurovision Song Contest.

At the qualifiers press conference for the second semi-final, the Head of Delegation from Serbia confirmed that Beovizija will be used again next year to select their participant. Beovizija was held between 2003 and 2009, and was used to select the Serbian participants in the Serbia & Montenegro selection in 2004, 2005 and 2006, before being used to select Serbia’s singer for the contest up to 2009.

This year the competition returned to RTS this year having been axed by the channel at the end of 2009. Serbia are being represented by Sanja Ilić & Balkanika with the song “Nova Deca”, they were one of seventeen acts to take part in the selection process and won both the public and jury vote. Serbia qualified for their first Eurovision final since the 2016 contest in Stockholm, Sweden.

Source: Serbian Head of Delegation

Serbia have competed as an independent nation in the Eurovision Song Contest since 2007, and have seen great success in the competition. Their first entry in 2007, Marija Šerifović’s “Molitva”, won the contest in Helsinki with 268 points, making Serbia’s debut one of the most successful in Eurovision history. From then up to their year’s break in 2014, Serbia finished in the top 10 a further two times, including a 3rd place finish in 2012 with Željko Joksimović’s “Nije ljubav stvar”. They have only failed to qualify for the final on three occasions, the most recent being in 2017 when Tijana Bogićević’s entry “In Too Deep” finished in 11th place in its semi-final in Kyiv.


Leave a Comment