Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

Eurovision 2018: Ten Countries Qualify From Semi-Final One

Ten countries have qualified from the first semi-final of the Eurovision Song Contest 2018.

Tonight the first semi-final of the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest took place at the Altice Arena in Lisbon, Portugal. Singers from 19 different countries took to the stage in the hopes of qualifying to the Grand Final, which will take place on Saturday.

Competing tonight was (qualifiers in bold):

  1. Azerbaijan – Aisel -“X My Heart”
  2. Iceland – Ari Ólafsson – “Our Choice”
  3. Albania – Eugent Bushpepa – “Mall”
  4. Belgium – Sennek – “A Matter Of Time”
  5. Czech Republic – Mikolas Josef – “Lie to Me”
  6. Lithuania – Ieva Zasimauskaite – “When We’re Old”
  7. Israel – Netta Barzilai – “Toy”
  8. Belarus – Alekseev – “Forever”
  9. Estonia – Elina Nechayeva – “La Forza”
  10. Bulgaria – Equinox – “Bones”
  11. FYR Macedonia – Eye Cue – “Lost and Found”
  12. Croatia – Franka – “Crazy”
  13. Austria – Cesár Sampson – “Nobody But You”
  14. Greece – Yianna Terzi – “Oniro Mou”
  15. Finland – Saara Aalto – “Monsters”
  16. Armenia – Sevak Khanagyan – “Qami”
  17. Switzerland – Zibbz – “Stones”
  18. Ireland – Ryan O’Shaughnessy – “Together”
  19. Cyprus – Eleni Foureira – “Fuego”

Hosting the show tonight is Filomena Cautela, Sílvia Alberto, Daniela Ruah, and Catarina Furtado. Each participating country can vote in this semi-final, as well as host country Portugal, Spain, and the United Kingdom.

A further ten countries will qualify from the second semi-final on Thursday. The twenty qualified countries will then join the six countries who automatically qualify to the Final (The Big Five, consisting of France, Germany, Italy, Spain, and the United Kingdom, as well as host country Portugal), making up twenty-six finalists.

The contest was brought to Portugal for the first time in the history of the contest after Salvador Sobral’s victory in Kyiv, Ukraine last year. Salvador received 758 points in the Grand Final with his song “Amar Pelos Dois”.

The official slogan for this year’s contest is “All Aboard!”, and was chosen to represent a celebration of Europe and music. The slogan was inspired by Lisbon’s longstanding history as an important global seaport and the importance of the ocean in Portugal’s history. The ocean has connected Portugal to the rest of the world for centuries, and this connectivity is intended to invite people from across the world to come together to celebrate music and Eurovision.

To get the most out of our coverage of this year’s contest in Portugal, make sure to follow us on all of our social media platforms. We’ll be running some special contests to win one-off prizes from some of these artists, so you need to pay close attention.

  • Like us on Facebook
  • Get all of the news straight to you Twitter feed by following Eurovoix
  • Checkout snippets of the goings on in Lisbon and more unique content on Twitter by following Eurovoix Moments
  • Who doesn’t love a nice picture, we’ll be posting summaries of the news and ourselves in Lisbon on Instagram

1 thought on “Eurovision 2018: Ten Countries Qualify From Semi-Final One”

Leave a Comment