Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

Eurovision ’18: Big 5 Draw Halves for Grand Final Running Order

The Big 5 for this year’s Eurovision Song Contest have drawn which half of the Grand Final they will be performing in.

After each of their press conferences today, the Big 5 — France, Germany, Italy, Spain, and the United Kingdom — randomly drew whether they would perform in the first or second half of the Grand Final on Saturday.

Performing in the first half are:

  • United Kingdom
  • Spain
  • Germany
  • France

And performing in the second half are:

  • Italy

Every year, the entries from the Big 5, as well as that from the host country, automatically qualify to the Grand Final of the Eurovision Song Contest. At the Head of Delegation Meeting earlier this year, Portugal was drawn to perform 8th. The final running order will be determined after the qualifiers from both semi-finals are revealed.

A total of 43 countries will take part in the 2018 edition of the Eurovision Song Contest. This includes Russia, as they return to the contest after a year break. The 43 participating countries are:

  • Albania
  • Armenia
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • FYR Macedonia
  • Germany
  • Georgia
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Malta
  • Moldova
  • Montenegro
  • The Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • San Marino
  • Serbia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Ukraine
  • United Kingdom

The contest is being held in Portugal for the first time after Salvador Sobral’s victory in Kyiv last year with “Amar pelos dois”. The official slogan for this year’s contest is “All Aboard!”, inspired by Lisbon’s longstanding history as an important global seaport and the importance of the ocean in Portugal’s history.

Leave a Comment