Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

New Zealand: UKTV Will Not Broadcast Eurovision 2018

UKTV has confirmed to that the channel will not be broadcasting the Eurovision Song Contest 2018 in New Zealand.

UKTV has confirmed that they will not be airing the Eurovision Song Contest 2018 live from Lisbon, Portugal. The broadcaster first aired the Eurovision Song Contest in 2014 showing both the semi-finals and the finals, before cutting back to just broadcasting the final in 2016.

Last year the broadcaster took the decision to axe the contest from its schedules. Between 2009 and 2011, Stratos broadcast the Eurovision Song Contest on a 12 hour delay in 2009 before delaying the show until June and July in 2010 and 2011.

A total of 43 countries will take part in the 2018 edition of the Eurovision Song Contest. This includes Russia, as they return to the contest after a year break. The 43 participating countries are:

  • Albania
  • Armenia
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • FYR Macedonia
  • Germany
  • Georgia
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Malta
  • Moldova
  • Montenegro
  • The Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • San Marino
  • Serbia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Ukraine
  • United Kingdom

The official slogan for this year’s contest is “All Aboard!”, and was chosen to represent a celebration of Europe and music. The slogan was inspired by Lisbon’s longstanding history as an important global seaport and the importance of the ocean in Portugal’s history. The ocean has connected Portugal to the rest of the world for centuries, and this connectivity is intended to invite people from across the world to come together to celebrate music and Eurovision.



Leave a Comment