Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

An answer rises after months of speculation as to who “The Dream Team” of Philip Kirkorov and Dimitris Kontopoulos will be working with for the Eurovision Song Contest 2018. DoReDoS will be taking part in the Moldovan national selection O melodie pentru Europa with the track My Lucky Day by Philip Kirkorov.

In early November the Russian star Philip Kirkorov revealed his future collaboration on Eurovision with “Dream Team” member Dimitris Kontopoulos through a public happy birthday wish.

Although Kirkorov had previously stated that he would not be returning to the Eurovision Song Contest again, he then explained his latest involvement with the fact that it was an invite from a “friendly country”.

For long it was speculated which Russia-friendly country it would be. Whilst rumors tended to favor countries like Azerbaijan and Belarus then we now know that Kirkorov is participating as a producer for one of the songs in the Moldovan national selection kicking off in February.

Submissions for O melodie pentru Europa are open until January 15th, 16:00 CET. The 35 entries making it to the live auditions phase of the contest will be released on January 16th, 12:00 CET through the TRM website. From there, 16 of the 35 entries will qualify to the semi-final held on February 22nd. The Final on February 24th will feature the top 10 entries from the semi-final.

DoReDoS have previously participated in O melodie pentru Europa twice, in 2015 and 2016, but have yet to win the competition and represent Moldova at the Song Contest. In 2016 the group entered the Moldovan national selection with the song FunnyFolk and finished in 4th place. In 2015 they placed 6th with the song Maricica.

We have yet to see whether the entire Greek-Russian Dream Team are all collaborating on the entry My Lucky Day.

“The Dream Team’s” last attempt at the Eurovision Song Contest was in 2016 where the entry “You Are The Only One” by Sergey Lazarev finished in third place. Their other previous successes include entries like Hold Me for Azerbaijan 2013, Shady Lady for Ukraine in 2008 and Work Your Magic for Belarus 2007.

Source: ESCXtra

Leave a Comment