Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

SRF has revealed the six artists and songs, hoping to represent Switzerland at the Eurovision Song Contest 2018 in Lisbon, Portugal.

The six finalists in ESC 2018 – Entscheidungsshow have been revealed this morning by SRF. The six participants were selected from a revamped selection process in Switzerland, that is hoping to bring the country back to the Eurovision Song Contest final for the first time since 2014.

The finalists are:

  • Zibbz – Stones
  • Angie Ott – A Thousand Times
  • Naeman – Kiss Me
  • Chiara Dubey – Secrets And Lies
  • Alejandro  Reyes – Compass
  • Vanessa Iraci – Redlights

The final of ESC 2018 – Entscheidungsshow will take place on February 4 in Zurich. Sven Epiney will host the program while Stefan Büsser is the Green room host.

The winner of the Swiss selection process will be determined by 50% jury voting and 50% public voting. This years sees the introduction of international juries to the selection process, this is hoped to replicate the Eurovision Song Contest voting.

Switzerland have had a disappointing record in recent contests. In 2017, Timebelle failed to qualify for the Grand Final in Kyiv with Apollo. Nevertheless, Switzerland is aiming high for 2018 and hoping to make a return to the Eurovision final and has even taken the step of meeting with the successful Swedish delegation to discuss how to improve Switzerland’s fortunes.

Source: SRF

Switzerland in the Eurovision Song Contest

Switzerland hosted the first Eurovision Song Contest in 1956 a contest that they won. Lys Assia won the first contest with the song “Refrain”, it wasn’t until 1988 that Switzerland would win the contest again. At the contest in Dublin, it was Celine Dion with “Ne partez pas sans moi” who beat the United Kingdom to victory by just 1 point. In recent years Switzerland has finished last five times since 2004. In the past three years, Switzerland has failed to reach the final.

Leave a Comment