Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

United Kingdom: Will Not Participate in Junior Eurovision 2018 Meetings

The Head of Delegation of Belarus has confirmed that the United Kingdom will not take part in the Steering Group meetings for Junior Eurovision 2018.

Ms Olga Salamakha has confirmed to that the United Kingdom will not be taking part in any meetings regarding the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2018. The Belarusian Head of Delegation confirmed that reports on BTRC that contained mention of the United Kingdom, were a mistake.

The Steering Group for the Junior Eurovision Song Contest is currently formed of;

  • Ekaterina Orlova, RTR (Russia)
  • Olga Salamakha, BTRC (Belarus)
  • Nicola Caligiore, RAI (Italy)
  • Anja Zegwaard, AVROTROS (Netherlands)
  • Charles Dalli, PBS (Malta)
  • Gordon Bonello, PBS (Malta)
  • Sergi Gvarjaladze, GPB (Georgia)
  • Jon Ola Sand, EBU

he United Kingdom has not participated in the Junior Eurovision Song Contest since 2005, when ITV withdrew from the contest following low viewing figures. During the three years in which they competed, the United Kingdom finished in the top three on two occasions. The countries best result came in 2004 when Cory Spedding finished 2nd in Norway with the song “The Best is Yet to Come”.

Since withdrawing from the competition in 2005, only one other broadcaster has shown an interest in participating in the contest. In 2008 Welsh broadcaster S4C looked into taking part in the competition in Cyprus, however eventually opted against taking part in the contest. In the past year S4C has taken part in a Eurovision event, with the Welsh language broadcaster taking part in Eurovision Choir of the Year.

The 2018 edition of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest will be held in Minsk, Belarus after the country won the bidding process before the 2017 contest even began. Olga Salamankha explained that Belarus was selected as the host for next years contest over other bids due to their long-term commitment to the competition. Belarus is one of a handful of countries to consistently hold a televised selection process to select their participants. Furthermore, the stability of Belarus as a nation was cited as a factor.

The first time Belarus held a Eurovision event was at the 2010 Junior Eurovision Song Contest, where it was held in Minsk Arena.

To date the following countries have confirmed their participation in the contest:

  • Belarus – Host nation
  • Georgia
  • The Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal

Source: esckaz

1 thought on “United Kingdom: Will Not Participate in Junior Eurovision 2018 Meetings”

Leave a Comment