Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

Malta: Denise Buttigieg To Eurovision Young Dancers 2017

Denise Buttigieg has been selected to represent Malta at Eurovision Young Dancers 2017 in the Czech Republic.

Denise Buttigieg has won a competition organised by PBS, and so she will represent her country of Malta at this year’s Eurovision Young Dancers competition. This year EYD will be held in the Czech Republic in December. At just 16 years old, Denise won the contest among nine other finalists, and has already stated that she will now prepare for the Eurovision Young Dancers contest in December.

The Chief Executive of PBS, John Bundy, stated that the jury faced a difficult task to select the Maltese representative for this competition. Initially there were a total of 18 submissions for the competition, with the jury selecting the final 10. A separate jury then selected Denise Buttigieg as the winner.


The deadline for countries to submit the relevant paperwork to take part in this competition has recently passed.

Interested broadcasters had until July 15 to submit the required paperwork to take part in this years contest in Prague this December. Eight countries have already confirmed that they will be taking part in this years contest. As of June 22 the following countries were announced as participating;

  • Czech Republic – Ceska Televize
  • Germany – WDR
  • Malta – PBS
  • Norway – NRK
  • Poland – TVP
  • Portugal – RTP
  • Slovenia – RTVSLO
  • Sweden – SVT

A maximum of 14 countries can take part in the competition, a minimum of 10 countries are required to take part in the contest for the competition to take place. Of the countries that participated in the 2015 contest in Plzen; Albania and Slovakia have not stated publicly whether they are competing. While the Netherlands has withdrawn from the competition.


Eurovision Young Dancers 2017 will take place on December 16 at the Forum Hall of Prague Congress Centre. Libor Bouček returns as the host of the competition, having host Eurovision Young Dancers the last time it was held in 2015. While, Petr Zuska has been confirmed as the choreographer of this years competition. Mr Zuska is the artistic director of The Czech National Ballet in Prague.

Source: TVM

[tw-accordion class=””]
[tw-accordion-section title=”What is Eurovision Young Dancers?”]
First held in 1985 a total of 37 countries have competed at least once in the contest, including Canada in 1987. The competition is open to young dancers who are aged between 16 and 21 years old. Each country is represented by either a solo dancer or a couple, who perform a routine of their choosing for the jury. The jury will select two acts to go through to the final round which is a 90 second dance off. Each dancer is given 45 seconds to perform and impress the judges, at the end of the performances the judges select the winner.

Leave a Comment