Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

Eight countries have been confirmed so far as participating in Eurovision Young Dancers 2017 on December 16 in Prague, Czech Republic.

The 15th edition of Eurovision Young Dancers is set to take place on Saturday 16 December at the Forum Hall of Prague Congress Centre. To date eight countries have confirmed that they will be attending this years competition, with interested broadcasters invited to submit relevant paperwork by July 15.

Confirmed as participating are:

  • Ceska Televize (Host Broadcaster)
  • WDR (Germany)
  • PBS (Malta)
  • NRK (Norway)
  • TVP (Poland)
  • RTP (Portugal) – Returning Country
  • RTV (Slovenia)
  • SVT (Sweden)

Portugal who won the Eurovision Song Contest 2017 returns to the competition after a long absence. The country last took part in the competition in 2011 where they were represented by Ricardo Macedo, this years appearance in the competition will be only the fourth time that Portugal has taken part in the competition. Furthermore, SVT the Swedish national broadcaster has reversed its decision not to take part in this years contest.

Head of Eurovision Live Events, Jon Ola Sand added,

This is an important competition for young dancers on the threshold of a professional career, The EBU is thrilled to celebrate the vitality and eclecticism of the modern dance scene together with our Member broadcasters. We look forward to finding Europe’s newest dance star in Prague.

Libor Bouček returns as the host of the competition, having host Eurovision Young Dancers the last time it was held in 2015. While, Petr Zuska has been confirmed as the choreographer of this years competition. Mr Zuska is the artistic director of The Czech National Ballet in Prague.

Source: EBU

[tw-accordion class=””]
[tw-accordion-section title=”What is Eurovision Young Dancers?”]
First held in 1985 a total of 37 countries have competed at least once in the contest, including Canada in 1987. The competition is open to young dancers who are aged between 16 and 21 years old. Each country is represented by either a solo dancer or a couple, who perform a routine of their choosing for the jury. The jury will select two acts to go through to the final round which is a 90 second dance off. Each dancer is given 45 seconds to perform and impress the judges, at the end of the performances the judges select the winner.

Leave a Comment