Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

EYD’17: Prague To Host Eurovision Young Dancers 2017?

RTVSLO reports that Prague, the Capital of the Czech Republic, will host Eurovision Young Dancers 2017 this December.

The Slovenian national broadcaster reports that Prague will be the host city for this years edition of Eurovision Young Dancers. This follows TVP in Poland reporting that the Czech Republic will be this years host country. If Prague is selected as the host city for this years competition it will be the first time that the Czech Capital will host a Eurovision contest. TVP has also reported that this years competition will take place on December 16. To date the European Broadcasting Union has not confirmed this information.

The following countries have confirmed their participation:

  • Czech Republic – Host country
  • Poland – Paulina Bidzińska
  • Slovenia – Patricija Crnkovič

The following countries competed last year, but have not stated their intention this year:

  • Albania
  • Germany
  • Malta
  • Norway
  • Slovakia

The following countries have withdrawn or will not compete this year:

  • Austria
  • Finland
  • Latvia
  • Netherlands – Withdrawn
  • San Marino
  • Sweden – Withdrawn
  • Ukraine

Eurovision Young Dancers 2017 had been previously cancelled after TVM, the Maltese national broadcaster, withdrew from hosting the competition in January. The Czech Republic had already made a public call for dancers to compete, the selection was due to be held on February 12th. Equally, Germany had made a call for dancers, the deadline for which was February 10th – meanwhile in Slovenia on the 10th, the selection was due to take place. Malta, weren’t due to select their entry until April 10th despite opening applications.

Source: RTVSLO

[tw-accordion class=””]
[tw-accordion-section title=”What is Eurovision Young Dancers?”]
First held in 1985 a total of 37 countries have competed at least once in the contest, including Canada in 1987. The competition is open to young dancers who are aged between 16 and 21 years old. Each country is represented by either a solo dancer or a couple, who perform a routine of their choosing for the jury. The jury will select two acts to go through to the final round which is a 90 second dance off. Each dancer is given 45 seconds to perform and impress the judges, at the end of the performances the judges select the winner.

Leave a Comment