Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

Tonight: Poland Selects For Eurovision Young Dancers 2017

Tonight Poland will select their participant for Eurovision Young Dancers 2017 later this year in the Czech Republic.

The final of Młody Tancerz Roku 2018 takes place this evening in Poland with the contest being broadcast live on TVP Kultura from 20:00 CET. Eight young dancers will be competing to be crowned Young Dancer of the Year, they are all aged between 16 and 20 years old and are not professionally engaged.

The eight hopefuls are:

  • Szymon Hawryszko
  • Weronika Sieczkarek
  • Mateusz Dryll
  • Patryk Kaczmarek
  • Alicja Kaczor
  • Paulina Bidzińska
  • Hanna Szychowicz
  • Pola Gonciarz

The eight dancers will perform a solo piece that they have choreographed, as well as dance in a group piece prepared by Jacka Przybyłowicza. Two dancers will be selected by the jury to go through to the dance off from which the jury will select their winner.

On the jury are:

  • IwonaPasińska – Director of the Polish Dance Theater – Poznań Ballet
  • Maksim Woitiul – Soloist at the Teatru Wielkiego – Opery Narodowe
  • Filip Czeszyk – Dancer, choreographer and hip-hop instructor

Ceska Televize will host the competition in the latter half of this year, the host city and venue for the contest have not yet been revealed. The Czech Republic takes over as the host country for this years contest after Malta withdrew from hosting at the start of this year. Currently only Poland has confirmed that they will be participating in this years contest.

[tw-accordion class=””]
[tw-accordion-section title=”What is Eurovision Young Dancers?”]
First held in 1985 a total of 37 countries have competed at least once in the contest, including Canada in 1987. The competition is open to young dancers who are aged between 16 and 21 years old. Each country is represented by either a solo dancer or a couple, who perform a routine of their choosing for the jury. The jury will select two acts to go through to the final round which is a 90 second dance off. Each dancer is given 45 seconds to perform and impress the judges, at the end of the performances the judges select the winner.

Leave a Comment