Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

Estonia: Jüri Pootsmann Announced As Spokesperson

Jüri Pootsmann has been announced as the Estonian Spokesperson during the final of the 62nd edition of the Eurovision Song Contest in Kyiv, Ukraine.

Jüri Pootsmann will announce the Estonian jury votes at this years Eurovision Song Contest in Kyiv, Ukraine. Jüri represented Estonia at last years Eurovision Song Contest in Stockholm, Sweden, with his song “Play”. He placed 18th in the Semi-Final with 24 points.

Koit and Laura will represent Estonia in Kyiv, Ukraine, with their song “Verona”. The pair won the final of Eesti Laul 2017 by a wide margin despite not being the favourites in the odds to win the competition, and so will represent Estonia at this year’s Eurovision Song Contest. The pair beat nine other acts in the final of Eesti Laul 2017 to become the 23rd act to represent Estonia at Eurovision. It will be the second time that both of them have represented Estonia; Koit came in 12th place in 1998 with “Mere lapsed”, and Laura represent them with Suntribe in 2005, singing “Let’s Get Loud”.

Estonia will participate in the Second Semi-Final tomorrow evening at 21:00 CET, and have already confirmed their participation in the 2018 contest.

Source: ETV

[tw-accordion class=””]
[tw-accordion-section title=”Estonia in the Eurovision Song Contest”]
Estonia debuted in the Eurovision Song Contest in 1994 alongside six other countries. At the contest in Dublin they were represented by Silvi Vrait, who finished 2nd last scoring just 2 points. In 2001 Estonia won the Eurovision Song Contest for the only time to date. They were represented by Tanel Padar, Dave Benton & 2XL, who performed the song “Everybody” and took a surprise victory in Copenhagen. After the success of the late-90s and early 00s, Estonia failed to qualify for the final from 2004-2008. In 2009 Estonia launched a new selection show, Eesti Laul, and has since qualified for the final five out of eight attempts.

Leave a Comment