Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

Lviv will be joining in with Eurovision 2017 as the city opens up a Fan Zone for locals and visitors to watch the contest together.

The Acting Head of the Culture Department at the Administration in Lviv has confirmed that a Fan Zone will be in place for the Eurovision Song Contest 2017. The Fan Zone will be located outside of the Opera House in the city and will feature two big screens. One of the big screens will broadcast the contest, green room and official show diaries. The second screen will be broadcasting another as yet unannounced program. The Fan Zone will be open from May 6 to May 13

It is not know if any other cities across Ukraine will also be opening up Fan Zones for this years contest. It has been hoped that visitors to the contest would visit other destinations in Ukraine as part of their visits.

Lviv was one of six cities which were shortlisted as potential host cities for the Eurovision Song Contest 2017. The city failed to progress to the final round of the bidding process, with the city being criticised for their limited plans. Lviv proposed to host the Eurovision Song Contest in the Arena Lviv, which currently houses their local football team FC Karpaty Lviv. Its capacity is 34, 915 and has previously been used to host Euro 2012 football matches. The city also proposed the use of an unfinished Eurobasket 2015 venue, the arena was only 25% complete at the time and would have required significant construction work.

A total of 42 countries are to compete in the Eurovision Song Contest 2017 in Kyiv, Ukraine. Returning to the Eurovision stage are Portugal and Romania who both took a year out from the contest. Bosnia & Herzegovina and Russia have however withdrawn from the contest. Bosnia & Herzegovina has withdrawn due to financial difficulties at the national broadcaster, BHRT. While Russia has withdrawn following Julia Samoilova being banned by Ukrainian Authorities from entering Ukraine. The 62nd edition of the Eurovision Song Contest is being held on the following dates:

  • Semi Final 1 – 9 May
  • Semi Final 2 – 11 May
  • Final – 13 May

Source: Depo

Leave a Comment