Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

ESC’17: People’s Friendship Arch Becomes Arch of Diversity

The People’s Friendship Arch has been re-branded for the Eurovision Song Contest 2017, transforming into the Arch of Diversity.

The People’s Friendship Arch has been transformed into the worlds largest artificially created rainbow as the Eurovision Song Contest draws ever closer. The Arch of Diversity ties into the slogan of this years contest “Celebrate Diversity”. As part of its overhaul, the arch has been covered in temporary colored paper which will be removed after the contest.

The Arch was originally constructed in 1982 to mark 60 years of the Soviet Union and the 1,500th anniversary of the City of Kyiv. Plans were however announced in 2016 for the structure to be demolished in the coming years as part of a wider decommunisation policy. In its place a new monument commemorating those who have died in the conflict in Eastern Ukraine will be constructed.

This is the second time that Kyiv has hosted the Eurovision Song Contest and the fourth time it has hosted a Eurovision event. The contest first traveled to Kyiv in 2005 following the victory of Ruslana with “Wild Dances” in Istanbul, Turkey. Eurovision would return to the Ukrainian Capital a further two times in 2009 and 2013, as the city played host to the Junior Eurovision Song Contest. The city falls just behind London for the most Eurovision Contests hosted in one city.

A total of 42 countries are to compete in the Eurovision Song Contest 2017 in Kyiv, Ukraine. Returning to the Eurovision stage are Portugal and Romania who both took a year out from the contest. Bosnia & Herzegovina and Russia have however withdrawn from the contest. Bosnia & Herzegovina has withdrawn due to financial difficulties at the national broadcaster, BHRT. While Russia has withdrawn following Julia Samoilova being banned by Ukrainian Authorities from entering Ukraine. The 62nd edition of the Eurovision Song Contest is being held on the following dates:

  • Semi Final 1 – 9 May
  • Semi Final 2 – 11 May
  • Final – 13 May


Leave a Comment