Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

Iceland: Julia Zemiro & Måns Zelmerlöw on Söngvakeppnin Jury

RUV has this afternoon announce the names of the seven individuals who will part of the jury at the final of Söngvakeppnin 2017.

RUV the Icelandic national broadcaster has today revealed that introduction of four international jury members to their seven member jury for tomorrow nights’ selection final. The jury who will have a 50% say in the first round of voting which decides the two artists who will perform again in the super final. The introduction of the international juries members, means the removal of the previous system of six regional juries from across Iceland.

On the jury are:

  • Australia – Julia Zemiro – Former commentator for SBS at the Eurovision Song Contest
  • France – Bruno Berberes – Former Head of Delegation for France
  • Serbia – Milica Fajgelj – Agent for a number of singers and past member of multiple delegations at the Eurovision Song Contest
  • Sweden – Måns Zelmerlöw – Winner of the Eurovision Song Contest 2015

The Icelandic members of the jury are:

  • Snorri Helgason – Musician
  • Andrea Gylfadóttir – Singer
  • Þórður Helgi Þórðarson – Producer at Ras 2

The running order for the Grand Final is as follows:

  1. Aron Hannes Emilsson – “Tonight” (previously “Nótt”)
  2. Arnar Jónsson & Rakel Pálsdóttir – “Again” (previously “Til mín”)
  3. Aron Brink – “Hypnotized” (previously “Þú hefur dáleitt mig”)
  4. Hildur Kristin Sefánsdóttir – “Bammbaramm”
  5. Rúnar Eff Rúnarsson – “Make your way back home” (previously “Mér við hlið”)
  6. Svala Björgvinsdóttir – “Paper” (previously “Ég veit það”)
  7. Daði Freyr Pétursson – “Is this love?” (previously “Hvað með það?”)

The Songvakeppnin final takes place this Saturday 11th March and starts at 2045 CET.

Source: RUV

[tw-accordion class=””]
[tw-accordion-section title=”Iceland in the Eurovision Song Contest”]
Iceland debuted in the Eurovision Song Contest in 1986 and has participated annually every year since. The contest is incredibly popular in Iceland, regularly being one of the most watched programmes of the year. Iceland has yet to win the contest to date, but has finished 2nd twice in the contest. In 1999 Selma missed out on victory in Jerusalem by 17 points. In 2009 Yohanna became the most successful Icelandic entrant ever finishing 2nd in the final with the song “Is it True?” she scored 218 points, this however was still 169 points behind the winners Norway.

Leave a Comment